Directors & Management

Bill Beament

BEng-Mining (Hons), MAICD
Executive Chairman – commenced 2007

Mr Beament is a mining engineer with more than 20 years’ experience in the resource sector. Previously he held several senior management positions, including General Manager of Operations for Barminco Limited with overall responsibility for 12 mine sites across Western Australia, and General Manager of the Eloise Copper Mine in Queensland.

Mr Beament is the current Chairman of the Western Australia School of Mines Alumni Patrons Group.

Mr Beament is a member of the Nomination and ESG & Safety Committees.

John Fitzgerald

Lead Independent Director – commenced 2012

Mr Fitzgerald has over 25 years resource financing experience and has provided project finance and corporate advisory services to a large number of companies in the resource sector.

He has previously held senior positions at NM Rothschild & Sons, Investec Bank Australia, Commonwealth Bank, HSBC Precious Metals and Optimum Capital. Mr Fitzgerald is a Chartered Accountant, a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia and a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Fitzgerald is Chairman of Novo Litio Limited, a Non-Executive Director of Danakali Limited and was previously Chairman of Carbine Resources Limited, Integra Mining Limited and Atherton Resources Limited.

Mr Fitzgerald is Chairman of the Audit & Risk and Nomination Committees and a member of the Remuneration and ESG & Safety Committees.

Christopher K G Rowe

MA (Economics and Law)
Non-Executive Director- commenced 2003

Mr Rowe was the founding Chairman of Northern Star Resources and held that position from 2003 to 2016.

A Graduate of Cambridge University, Mr Rowe consulted to the oil, gas and hard rock sectors of the resource industry before becoming the Executive Chairman of Cultus Petroleum NL in 1979, where he served until 1990. During his tenure the company participated in a number of commercial discoveries in Australia, New Zealand and the USA.

He has subsequently acted as a Director or Chairman to a number of Resource and Service Companies, including TSX listed UTS Energy Ltd and ASX listed Aerodata Limited and Target Energy Limited.

Mr Rowe was the Chairman and founder of Australian private equity and property fund manager, Hawkesbridge Capital.

In addition to his resource related activities, Mr Rowe acted as a Counsel Assisting the Royal Commission into the “WA. Inc” and served on the Environmental Protection Authority of Western Australia as both a member and as Deputy Chairman.

Mr Rowe is Chairman of the ESG & Safety Committee and a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committees.

Peter O’Connor

MA, Economics and Political Science and Barrister-at Law
Non-Executive Director – commenced 2012

Mr O’Connor has extensive global experience in the funds management industry, both public and private companies in developed and emerging economies. He was co-founder, director and deputy chairman of IMS Selection Management Ltd which had $10 billion under management or advice from 1998-2008. Following the sale of IMS to BNP Paribas in 2008, he was deputy chairman of FundQuest UK Ltd with $10 billion under management, and FundQuest globally had $35 billion of assets under management from 2008-2010.

Mr O’Connor is currently Chairman of ASX listed Neurotech International Limited and a Non-Executive Director of Blue Ocean Monitoring Limited. He was previously a Director and Chairman of ASX listed Brazilian Metals Group Limited, LSE listed Advance Developing Markets Fund and TSX listed NEO Material Technologies Inc.

Mr O’Connor is a member of the Audit & Risk, Nomination and ESG & Safety Committees.

Shirley In'tVeld

BCom LLB (Hons)
Non-Executive Director – commenced 2016

Ms In’tVeld is currently deputy director of the CSIRO, a director of NBN Co, a Non-Executive Director of APA Group and was until recently a director of Duet Company Limited, Perth Airport, Asciano Ltd and Chairman of Asciano’s Sustainability Committee. Ms In’tVeld is also a member of the Takeovers Panel.

Ms In’tVeld was the CEO of Verve Energy, a WA utility, for five years. Prior to this Ms In’t Veld held a number of senior commercial, legal and marketing positions with Alcoa, WMC Resources Ltd, Bond Corporation and BankWest, including Managing Director of Alcoa of Australia Rolled Products based in Geelong.

Ms In’tVeld is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit & Risk, Nomination and ESG & Safety Committees.

Stuart Tonkin

B-Eng (Hons)
Chief Executive Officer – commenced 2013

Mr Tonkin is a mining engineer with more than 20 years’ experience working in the underground hard-rock mining industry. Most recently he was Chief Operating Officer for Northern Star Resources for 3 years. Prior to this he was Chief Operating Officer for mining contractor Barminco, and a non-executive director of African Underground Mining Services Ghana.

He has extensive experience in the production of gold, copper, zinc and nickel and has held senior operational positions with Oxiana and Newmont in Western Australia. Mr Tonkin has a Bachelor of Engineering (Mining) with Honours from the Western Australian School of Mines and a WA First Class Mine Manager’s Certificate.

Shaun Day

Chief Financial Officer – commenced 2014

Mr Day has extensive financial and commercial experience spanning over 20 years. Prior to joining Northern Star, Mr Day was the CFO of SGX top 50 listed company Sakari Resources Limited ahead of its takeover by PTT PLC. Previously he performed the CFO and Treasury roles in ASX listed mining and telecommunications infrastructure companies. Mr Day has professional experience in a range of multinational business and investment banking roles, with particular focus on the mining sector and in-depth exposure to a number of debt and equity market transactions.

He obtained a Bachelor of Commerce from University of Western Australia, is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia and a graduate of the Governance Institute of Australia (Chartered Company Secretary).

Mr Day is a committee member of Chartered Accountants in Business for WA and sits on the Chamber of Minerals & Energy in WA’s Economics & Tax Committee. In addition, he has previously held directorships with ASX and TSX-V listed resources companies.

Michael Mulroney

B App Sc (Geol), MBA
Chief Geological Officer – commenced 2015

Mr Mulroney is a geologist and resource industry professional with over 30 years’ experience in the exploration, mining and finance sectors. His finance experience includes investment banking – evaluation, acquisition and financing of natural resource projects around the world.

Mr Mulroney has held several executive and non-executive director positions in the areas of exploration, project feasibility and development in both gold and base metals sectors.

Most recently Mr Mulroney was Managing Director of Venturex Resources Limited and Non-Executive Director of Acacia Coal Limited.

Hilary Macdonald

LLB (Hons), FGIA
General Counsel – commenced 2016
Company Secretary – commenced 2018

Ms Macdonald is a lawyer with over 25 years’ experience in private practice and industry with particular focus on corporate and mining law. A Graduate of Bristol University, England, Ms Macdonald qualified as a solicitor in London and was admitted to the Supreme Court of England and Wales in 1990, and to the Supreme Court of Western Australia in 1995.

Prior to her appointment as Northern Star’s General Counsel with executive responsibility for legal, Ms Macdonald has provided legal services to Northern Star continuously since 2009, commencing with the acquisition of the Paulsens gold operations.